England batsman Jonny Bairstow retained by Welsh Fire for inaugural edition of The Hundred in 2021 | Cricket News

England’s Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy and Dawid Malan amongst a quantity of gamers to stay with their Hundred sides; ICC Women’s Associate Player of the Decade, Kathryn Bryce, stays with Trent Rockets; watch match stay on Sky Sports Cricket this summer season

Last Updated: 19/01/21 12:38pm

Jonny Bairstow will play for Welsh Fire in The Hundred

Jonny Bairstow will play for Welsh Fire in The Hundred

Jonny Bairstow has dedicated to Welsh Fire for the inaugural edition of The Hundred whereas fellow England batsmen Dawid Malan and Jason Roy are sticking with Trent Rockets and Oval Invincibles respectively.

The trio’s signings had been amongst a quantity introduced on Tuesday with over 100 gamers now confirmed to participate in this summer season’s new 100-ball competitors, which might be broadcast stay on Sky Sports.

Fire, in addition to Bairstow’s retention, introduced that Tom Banton and Ben Duckett may also play for the aspect in 2021.

Bairstow mentioned: “I’m delighted to be staying at Welsh Fire and I’m really looking forward to representing the team this summer. Ben and Tom are both excellent players and we’ve got the makings of a really strong line-up.”

Bairstow was selected by Welsh Fire last year and will stay with them after the tournament was postponed due to coronavirus

Bairstow was chosen by Welsh Fire final yr and can stick with them after the match was postponed attributable to coronavirus

Malan added: “I was really pleased when Trent Rockets picked me in the men’s draft and it was a no-brainer to stay with the side. We’ve got a really exciting mix of local talent and overseas stars and we’ll be aiming to bring the trophy to Trent Bridge.”

The remaining retained males’s gamers might be introduced on February 4.

Dawid Malan is the top-ranked T20I batsman in the world

Dawid Malan is the top-ranked T20I batsman in the world

A number of signings for the ladies’s match, which can run alongside the boys’s, have additionally been introduced, with ICC Women’s Associate Player of the Decade, Scotland worldwide Kathryn Bryce, sticking with Rockets.

South Africa’s Marizanne Kapp and Lizelle Lee additionally set to play for Invincibles and Manchester Originals respectively.

All-rounder Kapp mentioned: “The Kia Oval is a fantastic place to play cricket and I’m really looking forward to playing for Oval Invincibles there. We’ve got a great group of players and I’m hoping we can go all the way in the competition.”

Marizanne Kapp will play for Oval Invincibles's women's side in The Hundred

Marizanne Kapp will play for Oval Invincibles’s girls’s aspect in The Hundred

Opening batter Lee added: “I’ve got some fantastic memories of playing in England both internationally and in the Kia Super League and I can’t wait to take part in The Hundred later this year for Manchester Originals.

“It’s actually thrilling to be taking part in in a brand new competitors and I feel it is a terrific alternative to proceed to develop the ladies’s recreation.”

More signings for the ladies’s squads in The Hundred might be introduced over the approaching months.

Latest signings for The Hundred:

Birmingham Phoenix: Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Tom Helm, Benny Howell, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood

London Spirit: Mohammad Amir, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Jade Dernbach, Danielle Gibson, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals: Joe Clarke, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Phil Salt

Northern Superchargers: Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Adam Lyth

Oval Invincibles: Megan Belt, Alex Blake, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rhianna Southby, Nathan Sowter

Southern Brave: Lauren Bell, Alex Davies, Sonia Odedra, Max Waller

Trent Rockets: Kathryn Bryce, Matthew Carter, Abbey Freeborn, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney

Welsh Fire: Jonathan Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith

Watch The Hundred stay on Sky Sports this summer season!

Back to top button
News Rush